2018 ATP awards: Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer among winners

Novak Djokovic celebrates with Wimbledon trophy

The Big Three of Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer all walked away with at least one gong from the 2018 ATP World Tour Awards.

Unsurprisingly, Djokovic scooped the Comeback Player of the Year award, which was voted by the ATP players, on the back of glorious run during the second half of the season.

Having slumped to No 22 in the world after struggling for form following elbow surgery, the Serb bounced back by winning Wimbledon and the US Open as well as the Cincinnati and Shanghai Masters.

He brilliant run saw him replace Nadal at the top of the rankings and he will finish the year there after the Spaniard pulled out of the ATP Finals.

Djokovic’s mentor Marian Vajda was also named ATP Coach of the Year (voted by ATP coaches) after he guided the Serb back to the top following their reunion in April.

Nadal won the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award “for his fair play, professionalism and integrity on and off the court” while Federer picked up the ATPWorldTour.com Fans’ Favourite gong (voted by fans).

It is the 16th straight year that Federer won the fans’ award.

Meanwhile, 20-year-old Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas was named Most Improved Player of the Year while Australian Alex de Minaur picked up the Newcomer of the Year award.

All the ATP winners:
ATP World Tour No 1 (determined by ATP Rankings): Novak Djokovic
Comeback Player of the Year: Novak Djokovic
ATP World Tour No. 1 Doubles Team: Oliver Marach & Mate Pavic
Most Improved Player of the Year: Stefanos Tsitsipas
Newcomer of the Year: Alex de Minaur
Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: Rafael Nadal
Arthur Ashe Humanitarian of the Year: Tommy Robredo
ATP Coach of the Year: Marian Vajda
ATPWorldTour.com Fans’ Favourite presented (Singles): Roger Federer
ATPWorldTour.com Fans’ Favourite presented (Doubles): Mike Bryan & Jack Sock
Ron Bookman Media Excellence Award: Sue Barker
ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year: BNP Paribas Open (Indian Wells)
ATP World Tour 500 Tournament of the Year: Fever-Tree Championships (Queen’s Club)
ATP World Tour 250 Tournament of the Year: Intrum Stockholm Open (Stockholm)

More from Tennis365: