And your 2019 ATP Awards nominees are… Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Andy Murray nominated

Rafael Nadal 2019 year-end No 1

The nominees for the 2019 ATP Awards have been revealed and Rafael Nadal as well as Roger Federer and Andy Murray are all in the running for a gong.

Nadal is already assured of one big award, the year-end world No 1 spot, as that is determined by the ATP Rankings, but he has also been nominated for the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award.

The award, voted for by the players, goes to the player who “conducted himself at the highest level of professionalism and integrity, who competed with his fellow players with the utmost spirit of fairness and who promoted the game through his off-court activities”.

Nadal also won the gong in 2018 and 2010, but he is up against world No 3 Federer, Diego Schwartzman and Dominic Thiem for the 2019 gong.

Murray is up for the Comeback Player of the Year award.

The three-time Grand Slam winner produced one of the feel-good stories of the year as he bounced back from a career-saving hip surgery to return to the winners’ circle in at the European Open in October.

Stan Wawrinka, Andrey Rublev and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga are the other three nominees in the category.

After dropping outside the world 250 last year after he was forced to miss large parts of the season due to injury, Wawrinka climbed back into the world top 20 this year.

Russian Rublev slumped to 115 early in the 2019 season, but he finished the year as the world No 23 while Jo-Wilfried Tsonga will start 2020 as the world No 29 having been outside the world 200 during the first few months of the year.

Felix Auger-Aliassime, Matteo Berrettini, Daniil Medvedev and Stefanos Tsitsipas are up for the Most Improved Player of the Year.

Daniil Medvedev finished runner-up to Nadal at the US Open and won the Shanghai Masters during a brilliant run that saw him play in six consecutive finals.

Tsitsipas claimed the season-ending ATP Finals trophy during a a year in which he reached the semi-final of the Australian Open and win three titles.

Nominees for awards voted by ATP players:
Comeback Player of the Year
Andy Murray
Andrey Rublev
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
Stan Wawrinka

Most Improved Player of the Year
Felix Auger-Aliassime
Matteo Berrettini
Daniil Medvedev
Stefanos Tsitsipas

Newcomer of the Year
Felix Auger-Aliassime
Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
Miomir Kecmanovic
Corentin Moutet
Alexei Popyrin
Casper Ruud
Jannik Sinner
Mikael Ymer

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award
Roger Federer
Rafael Nadal
Diego Schwartzman
Dominic Thiem

Tournaments of the Year
ATP Masters 1000
ATP 500
ATP 250

The coaches will vote for the ATP Coach of the Year, fans will vote for the Fans’ Favourite (Singles & Doubles) and the ATP will also hand out the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award.

Like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter @T365Official.