ATP Finals day one and two order of play and times confirmed: Novak Djokovic, Carlos Alcaraz in action

Shahida Jacobs
ATP Finals generic

Novak Djokovic will headline the opening day’s play at the 2023 ATP Finals while second seed Carlos Alcaraz will make his debut on Monday after the order of play for the opening two days was confirmed.

The draw for the season-ending tournament was made on Thursday and defending champion Djokovic is the top seed in the Green Group with Jannik Sinner, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Holger Rune the other three players in the line-up.

The Green Group will open the ATP Finals on Sunday although it will be the doubles that kickstart the afternoon session as top seeds and current French Open champions Ivan Dodig and Austin Krajicek will take on seventh seeds Maximo Gonzalez and Andres Molteni at midday (11:00 GMT).

They will be followed by local hope Sinner’s clash against Tsitsipas and the match won’t start before 14:30 local time (13:30 GMT)

Sunday’s evening session gets underway at 18:30 (17:30 GMT) with the doubles clash between Santiago Gonzalez and Edouard Roger-Vasselin, and Marcel Granollers and Horacio Zeballos.

Six-time champion Djokovic and rising star Rune will then wrap up the day’s play with the final singles match of the day scheduled to start at 21:00 (20:00 GMT) at the earliest.

Order of play Sunday, November 1

Afternoon Session – Starts at 12:00 (11:00 GMT)
(1) Ivan Dodig/Austin Krajicek vs. (7) Maximo Gonzalez/Andres Molteni

Not Before 14:30 (13:30 GMT)
(4) Jannik Sinner vs. (6) Stefanos Tsitsipas

Evening Session – Not Before 18:30 (17:30 GMT)
(4) Santiago Gonzalez/Edouard Roger-Vasselin vs. (5) Marcel Granollers/Horacio Zeballos

Not Before 21:00 (20:00 GMT)
Novak Djokovic vs. (8) Holger Rune

On Monday it is the turn of the Red Group with two-time Grand Slam winner Alcaraz the highest seed in action during the afternoon session before an all-Russian clash between Medvedev and Rublev brings the curtain down on the day’s action.

Wimbledon champions Wesley Koolhof and Neal Skupski will open proceedings against reigning Australian Open champions Rinky Hijikata and Jason Kubler in the afternoon before Alcaraz and two-time ATP Finals champion Zverev.

The evening session will be kicked off by third seeds Rohan Bopanna and Matthew Ebden’s clash against US Open champions Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury’s clash before Medvedev and Rublev take to the court.

Order of play Monday, November 13

Afternoon Session – Starts at 12:00 (11:00 GMT)
(2) Wesley Koolhof/Neal Skupski vs. (8) Rinky Hijikata/Jason Kubler

Not Before 14:30 (13:30 GMT)
(2) Carlos Alcaraz vs. (7) Alexander Zverev

Evening Session – Not Before 18:30 (17:30 GMT)
(3) Rohan Bopanna/Matthew Ebden vs. (6) Rajeev Ram/Joe Salisbury

Not Before 21:00 (20:00 GMT)
(3) Daniil Medvedev vs. (5) Andrey Rublev

READ MORE: 2023 ATP Finals: Dates and venue, players and teams who qualified, the draw, prize money, streaming info