The longest ATP winning streaks in 2023: Novak Djokovic, Carlos Alcaraz, Daniil Medvedev all feature

Ewan West
Novak Djokovic and Daniil Medvedev
Novak Djokovic and Daniil Medvedev after the 2023 US Open final

During the 2023 season, there were eight streaks of 10 or more consecutive wins by ATP players, with Novak Djokovic, Carlos Alcaraz and Daniil Medvedev all featuring. 

Here, we look at the longest ATP winning streaks in 2023.

8. Carlos Alcaraz – 10 matches 

Carlos Alcaraz started his excellent 2023 campaign by winning eight straight matches, a run that saw him win the Buenos Aires titles and which was ended by a defeat in The Rio Open final.

Following that, Alcaraz won 10 successive matches without losing a set across back-to-back Masters 1000 tournaments in March as he won Indian Wells and lost in the Miami Open semi-finals.

The Spaniard defeated Thanasi Kokkinakis, Tallon Griekspoor, Jack Draper, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Jannik Sinner and Daniil Medvedev in his six matches at the Indian Wells Masters.

Alcaraz then saw off Facundo Bagnis, Dusan Lajovic, Tommy Paul and Taylor Fritz in Miami, before losing in a three-set last four clash with Sinner to fall narrowly short of a ‘Sunshine Double.’

= 6. Sebastian Baez – 12 matches 

Sebastian Baez lost four matches in a row across Eastbourne, Wimbledon, Bastad and Hamburg, before he went on a 12-match winning streak that started in August and ended in September.

The Argentine earned victories over Hamad Medjedovic, Roberto Carballes Baena, Alex Molcan, Tomas Martin Etcheverry and Dominic Thiem in claiming the clay-court ATP 250 title in Kitzbuhel.

Later in August, Baez carried his run onto hard courts in North America as he beat Daniel Elahi Galan, Aleksandar Vukic, Laslo Djere, Borna Coric and Jiri Lehecka to win the ATP 250 event in Winston-Salem.

The following week at the US Open, the 22-year-old defeated Coric and Felipe Meligeni Alves in his first two matches, before a straight-set third round defeat to Medvedev stopped his charge.

= 6. Carlos Alcaraz – 12 matches 

Following his exit in Miami, Alcaraz bettered his previous run as he put together a stretch of 12 straight successive wins in clay events in Barcelona, Madrid and Rome.

At the Barcelona Open in April, Alcaraz downed Nuno Borges, Roberto Bautista Agut, Alejandro Davidovich Fokina, Dan Evans and Stefanos Tsitsipas to win the ATP 500 title without dropping a set.

Alcaraz then defeated Emil Ruusuvuori, Grigor Dimitrov, Alexander Zverev, Karen Khachanov, Borna Coric and Jan-Lennard Struff – losing sets only in his first and last matches –  to win the Madrid Masters.

The Spaniard overcame Albert Ramos-Vinolas at the Italian Open, before qualifier Fabian Marozsan – then ranked 135th – ended his run as he earned a huge upset with a straight-set third round win.

5. Novak Djokovic – 13 matches 

After a quarter-final loss at the Italian Open in May, Djokovic earned 13 consecutive wins across the French Open and Wimbledon, starting in May and ending in July.

The Serbian lost only two sets as he overcame Aleksandar Kovacevic, Marton Fucsovics, Davidovich Fokina, Juan Pablo Varillas, Karen Khachanov, Alcaraz and Casper Ruud to triumph at the French Open.

At Wimbledon, Djokovic earned victories over Pedro Cachin, Jordan Thompson, Stan Wawrinka, Hubert Hurkacz, Andrey Rublev and Jannik Sinner to reach the final.

In the championship match, Djokovic’s run of wins ended at 13 as he was edged in an epic five-set final by Alcaraz.

4. Carlos Alcaraz – 14 matches 

Having lost to Djokovic at Roland Garros, Alcaraz assembled his third winning streak of 10-plus matches in 2023 across Queen’s Club, Wimbledon and the Canadian Open from June to August.

At the Queen’s Club Championships, Alcaraz defeated Arthur Rinderknech, Lehecka, Dimitrov, Sebastian Korda and Alex De Minaur to secure his first grass-court title at the ATP 500 event.

The Spaniard then beat Jeremy Chardy, Alexandre Muller, Nicolas Jarry, Matteo Berrettini, Holger Rune, Medvedev and Djokovic to secure a maiden Wimbledon crown.

At the Masters 1000 event in Toronto, Alcaraz saw off Ben Shelton and Hubert Hurkacz, before Tommy Paul halted his 14-match surge in a three-set quarter-final battle.

3. Novak Djokovic – 15 matches 

Djokovic started his superb 2023 season by winning his first 15 matches, during a stretch that saw him win titles in Adelaide and at the Australian Open.

The Serbian saw off Constant Lestienne, Quentin Halys, Denis Shapovalov, Medvedev and Korda to win the hard-court ATP 250 tournament in Adelaide.

At the Australian Open, Djokovic lost a single set in downing Carballes Baena, Enzo Couacaud, Dimitrov, De Minaur, Andrey Rublev, Paul and Stefanos Tsitsipas to claim his 10th crown at the event.

Djokovic then earned wins against Tomas Machac, Griekspoor and Hurkacz to reach the semi-finals of the Dubai Championships, where he fell to Medvedev in straight sets.

= 1. Novak Djokovic – 19 matches 

Following his Wimbledon final defeat, Djokovic responded by going on a 19-match winning streak that stretched from August until November.

The 36-year-old beat Davidovich Fokina, Gael Monfils, Taylor Fritz, Zverev – and Alcaraz in an incredible final – as he triumphed at the Cincinnati Masters.

At the US Open, Djokovic earned wins over Muller, Bernabe Zapata Miralles, Djere, Borna Gojo, Fritz, Shelton and Medvedev to secure the US Open title. The following week, he scored a victory against Davidovich Fokina at the Davis Cup Finals group stage in Malaga.

Having skipped the Asian swing to rest, Djokovic returned at the Paris Masters, where he defeated Etcheverry, Griekspoor, Rune, Rublev and Dimitrov to claim a third title in as many events.

Djokovic then won his opening match at the ATP Finals in Turin against Rune, before he lost a three-set round-robin thriller to Sinner as his streak ended at 19 wins.

= 1. Daniil Medvedev – 19 matches 

Daniil Medvedev shares the honour of having the longest ATP winning streak of the year with Djokovic, having also earned 19 straight wins.

After a third round Australian Open defeat to Korda in January, Medvedev went on a tear at hard-court tournaments in February and March.

The 27-year-old first overcame Davidovich Fokina, Botic Van De Zandschulp, Auger-Aliassime, Dimitrov and Sinner to claim the ATP 500 title in Rotterdam.

The Russian added the 250 event in Doha courtesy of victories against Liam Broady, Christopher O’Connell, Auger-Aliassime and Andy Murray.

Medvedev then secured another 500 title at the Dubai Championships, where he triumphed over Matteo Arnaldi, Alexander Bublik, Borna Coric, Djokovic and Rublev.

He continued his impressive run at the Indian Wells Masters as he beat Brandon Nakashima, Ilya Ivashka, Zverev, Davidovich Fokina and Frances Tiafoe to make a fourth straight final. His streak came to an end with a straight-set defeat to Alcaraz in the title match at the Masters 1000 event.

READ MORE: The 7 oldest ATP Tour title winners in 2023: Gael Monfils tops the list, Novak Djokovic 3rd