Novak Djokovic comes from behind again to reach Serbian Open semis

Novak Djokovic celebrates

Novak Djokovic won a comeback three-setter against an in-form countryman for the second straight day in Belgrade.

The World No 1 clawed his way back from a precarious position against Miomir Kecmanovic to advance to the semi-finals 4-6, 6-3, 6-3.

For the second match in a row Djokovic has had to come back from a set and a break down to claim his victory.

The top seed played some of the best tennis of his limited season in the latter half of the match, after working through his early struggles and coming to grips with the aggressive game of Kecmanovic.

Kecmanovic took the opening set without facing a break point, before an eventful start to the second saw a break chance in each of the first four games.

After sitting down for the first changeover down a break, Djokovic began to elevate his precision and consistency from the baseline to level the match.

Djokovic sealed the match with his fourth break of serve with back-to-back forehand winners.

The top seed won the final four games of the deciding set, dropping just two points in the process, and did not face a break point.

The victory is a repeat of the result when Djokovic and Kecmanovic met at the same stage one year ago in Belgrade, with Djokovic now holding a 2-0 edge in their head to head record.

The 22-year-old Serb has been one of the most consistent players of the 2022 season and gave Djokovic a run for his money.

Kecmanovic is now at a career-high of No 38 in the ATP Rankings, and was playing in his fifth consecutive ATP Tour quarter-final.

The loss drops Kecmanovic to 19-8 for the 2022 season.

Djokovic extended his unbeaten streak against compatriots to 10 matches and improved his record to 27-4 against his fellow Serbs.

The 20-time Grand Slam winner is chasing his third title at the event he helped bring to Belgrade and a fourth ATP Tour title overall in his home city, awaits the winner of third seed Karen Khachanov’s match against Brazilian qualifier Thiago Monteiro.