Queen’s Club reveals strongest-ever entry list in 128-year history

Shahida Jacobs

The 2018 Fever-Tree Championships will have the event’s best-ever line-up with world No 1 Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray among the entrants.

Nadal and Murray will be among four Grand Slam winners to compete as three-time major winner Stan Wawrinka and 2009 US Open champion Juan Martin del Potro have also signed up.

Murray, of course, will use the tournament to prove his fitness ahead of Wimbledon following his long injury lay-off.

The field will also have six current top 10 players as Grigor Dimitrov, Marin Cilic, Kevin Anderson and David Goffin will also feature along with defending champion Feliciano Lopez from Spain.

In fact, only one player is ranked outside the world top 40 with Canadian youngster Denis Shapovalov currently No 43.

Tournament director Stephen Farrow, said: “To see six of the world’s top 10 players on our entry list before you even get to the names Andy Murray, Stan Wawrinka, Milos Raonic, Feliciano Lopez, Nick Kyrgios and the British No 1 Kyle Edmund really whets the appetite for a fantastic week of tennis in the Fever-Tree Championships at The Queen’s Club. We can’t wait to get started.”

Here are the entrants and their current ranking:
1 Nadal
4 Dimitrov
5 Cilic
6 Del Potro
8 Anderson
10 Goffin
13 Querrey
15 Sock
16 Schwartzmann
17 Berdych
22 Edmund
23 Kyrgios
24 Raonic
25 Wawrinka
26 Krajinovic
27 Mannarino
30 Lopez
32 Dzumhur
33 Muller
36 Tsonga
37 Verdasco
39 Murray
43 Shapovalov

The Fever-Tree Championships runs from June 18-24.