The 10 players with the most ATP Masters 1000 titles: Andre Agassi 4th, Alexander Zverev moves up

Shahida Jacobs
Novak Djokovic most ATP Masters 1000 title
Most ATP Masters 1000 titles: Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic is the record-holder for most ATP Masters 1000 titles and it will take several years for the current crop to surpass his achievement.

The ATP Masters 1000 series was introduced in 1990 and the Indian Wells Open, Miami Open, Monte Carlo Masters, Madrid Open, Italian Open, Canadian Open, Cincinnati Open, Shanghai Masters and the Paris Masters make up the modern-day nine-tournament series.

Hamburg, Stockholm and Stuttgart were initially part of the series, but those events were later dropped.

In case you didn’t know, besides winning the most titles at ATP 1000 events, Djokovic is also the only player to win a Career Golden Masters (all nine events) and to put the cherry on the cake he has done it twice as he completed the milestones in 2018 and 2020.

The Serbian leads the Big Three for most titles, but who else features on the top-10 list?

=9. Daniil Medvedev and Alexander Zverev – 6 titles

Daniil Medvedev made his ATP Masters 1000 title breakthrough at the 2019 Cincinnati Open when he defeated David Goffin in straight sets. His most recent title was at the 2023 Italian Open. Unsurprisingly, the hard-court special – as Medvedev refers to himself – has won five titles on the surface. His titles to date are Cincinnati, Shanghai, Paris, Canada, Miami and Italy.

Alexander Zverev moved up a spot on the list on the back of his title run at the 2024 Italian Open in Rome, which was also the place where he won his maiden ATP 1000 event. Back in 2017, the 20-year-old Zverev became the first player born in the 1990s to win a Masters title. Besides his two Italian Open titles, the German has also won two trophies in Madrid, one in Canada and one in Cincinnati.

READ MORE: The 8 players with the most WTA 1000 titles: Steffi Graf No 2, Iga Swiatek already joint sixth

8. Michael Chang – 7 titles

Michael Change – the youngest-ever men’s Grand Slam champion as he was 17 years and 109 days when he won the 1989 French Open – played in nine Masters Series finals (as it was known back in the day) and won seven of them. Interestingly, all seven came on the North American hard courts as he won three in Indian Wells, two in Cincinnati, one in Miami and one in Canada.

7. Tomas Muster – 8 titles

Former world No 1 Tomas Muster also had an incredible win-loss ratio in the big matches as he won eight of his 10 finals. Only two of his titles were won away from clay (Stuttgart and Miami). His other trophies came at two venues as he won three titles in Rome and three at Monte Carlo.

6. Pete Sampras – 11 titles

The great Pete Sampras lost his first two Masters finals and then won six in a row. His first title came at the 1992 Cincinnati Masters and he went on to win another two trophies in Cincy. He also won the Miami Open three times, Indian Wells twice, Paris Masters twice, and Italian Open once.

5. Andy Murray – 14 titles

Andy Murray kept pace with the Big Three during the early stages of his career, but fell away after his hip became a big problem in 2017 with his last ATP Masters 1000 title coming at the 2016 Paris Masters. The former world No 1 played in 21 finals and 14 of them were against either Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal or Roger Federer and he won eight of those, including one on the clay against Nadal in Madrid.

Murray’s first title came at the 2008 Cincinnati Masters when he defeated Djokovic. He won three in Canada, three in Shanghai, two in Cincinnati, two at Miami, two in Madrid, and one each in Paris and Rome.

4. Andre Agassi – 17 titles

The eight-time Grand Slam winner won 17 of the 22 finals he played in at ATP Masters level with his first trophy coming at the 1990 Miami Open as he beat Stefan Edberg, just weeks after the Swede denied him in the Indian Wells final. Agassi went on to win the Miami Open six times, the Cincinnati Open three times, the Canadian Open three times, the Paris Masters twice, and Indian Wells, Madrid and Italy once each.

3. Roger Federer – 28 titles

Former world No 1 Roger Federer played in 138 ATP Masters 1000 events and reached 50 finals in total, winning just over half of the 50 showpiece matches. After losing his first Miami Open final against Agassi in 2002, Federer went on to win the tournament four times. However, the Cincinnati Masters event was his favourite as he won it seven times. He also won the Indian Wells Open (5), German Open (4), Madrid Open (3), Shanghai Masters (2), Canadian Open (2) and Paris Open.

The ones he missed out on were the Monte Carlo Masters and the Italian Open.

2. Rafael Nadal – 36 titles

At one point it looked like Rafael Nadal would draw level with Djokovic, but he fell away after 2021 and was then injured for most of the 2023 and 2024 seasons. The bulk of Nadal’s 36 ATP Masters 1000 trophies came at two events as he won the Monte Carlo Masters 11 times and the Italian Open 10 times. There were also five titles in Madrid, five titles in Canada, three in Indian Wells, and one in Cincinnati and Shanghai.

He played in 90 tournaments, finishing runner-up at 17 events, and the Miami Open and Paris Masters were the two missing from his CV.

1. Novak Djokovic – 40 titles

Novak Djokovic was the first man to win 30 ATP Masters titles in 2017 and he is now the only man to win 40 with No 40 coming at the 2023 Cincinnati Open. In case you were wondering, he is 404–89 at Masters events, reaching 58 finals.

Weeks after finishing runner-up to Nadal at Indian Wells in 2007, Djokovic made his breakthrough at the Miami Open with victory over Guillermo Canas. And the titles kept rolling in after that. The Paris Masters has been his most successful event with seven titles, followed by Miami and Italy (6 each), Indian Wells (5), Shanghai and Canada (4 each), Madrid and Cincinnati (3 each) and Monte Carlo (2).