WATCH: Roger Federer gets a little snappy on and off the court in Shanghai

ATP Tour
Roger Federer relieved

The usually cool Roger Federer got a little tetchy during his Shanghai Masters quarter-final against Alexander Zverev and after the match he also got frustrated with a reporter.

Federer suffered a 6-3, 6-7 (7-9), 6-3 defeat at the hands of Zverev, but midway through the third set things got a bit heated.

Having saved five match points in the second set, the 20-time Grand Slam winner found himself 3-0 down in the decider and smashed a ball into the stands.

He received a warning from chair umpire Nacho Forcadell for ball abuse, but Federer didn’t take heed as he hit another ball out of the court on his next service game.

Forcadell then gave him a point penalty.

“How did I hit the ball? With the frame. Was it in anger, for you?” Federer asked Forcadell.

The reply was: “Maybe it was not with full power… but it was out of the court.”

Naturally Federer was asked about the point penalty during the post-match press conference, but he was in no mood to discuss the incident.

After initially revealing that his last point penalty was “a long, long time ago” he then refused to divulge more on the subject, saying: “So you can write on Twitter, you mean? It would be nice if you would write something nice once also about the game. Next question.”

Like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter @T365Official.

Latest