Davis Cup Finals draw: Holders Spain, Great Britain, Serbia find out group opponents

Spain and Rafael Nadal celebrate Davis Cup win

The 2020 Davis Cup Finals draw has been completed and holders Spain will kick off the defence of their title against Russia and Ecuador in the group phase.

Spain won last year’s tournament at Caja Mágica in Madrid after beating surprise finalists Canada 2-0.

The Canadians headline Group B along with Kazakhstan and Finals debutants Sweden.

Meanwhile, Leon Smith’s Great Britain have a tough assignment as they are in Group C with 2018 Davis Cup winners France and 2013 champions the Czech Republic.

Great Britain reached the semi-finals last year and were beaten 2-1 by eventual winners Spain.

Group D will feature Croatia, Australia and Hungary, Group E consists of the United States, Italy and Colombia while Serbia, Germany and Austria make up Group G.

The countries that top their groups will advance to the knockout stage along with the two best-performing runners-up

Teams finishing in first place in Groups A and B will face the two best-performing group runners-up, with the winner of Group C taking on the winner of Group F, and the winner of Group D facing the Group E winner.

Like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter @T365Official.