Great Britain confirm fifth Davis Cup team member

Davis Cup Neal Skupski

LTA head of men’s tennis Leon Smith has confirmed the final line-up for the Davis Cup Finals group stage to be held at Emirates Arena next week.

Smith who also serves as Davis Cup Captain confirmed the addition of doubles expert Neal Skupski for the ties which start from next Tuesday 13 September 2022.

Great Britain are among four nations hosting a Group and will face the United States, Kazakhstan and the Netherlands.

Skupski is set to make his third Davis Cup appearance since making his debut in 2019 in Madrid and turning out in Innsbruck in 2021.

“We are delighted to add Neal to the team”, said Smith. “He’s had an outstanding year on Tour which seems him part of the No.1 doubles team on the ATP season-long Race and on the cusp of individually becoming the No.1 player in the doubles rankings.

“We have a very strong team with all of our players in really great form. We face tough challenges against the other nations in our group and we need to be ready to battle hard in all the matches in front of our home fans in Glasgow.”

Skupski joins a team that also includes Cameron Norrie, Dan Evans, Andy Murray and Joe Salisbury.

He could even be asked to face his regular doubles partner Wesley Koolhof when the Brits take on the Netherlands on Friday 16 September.

Skupski is likely to form the doubles pairing with Doubles World No 1 Salisbury who also faces a potential meeting with regular partner Rajeev Ram who is named in the United States’ team.

Cameron Norrie eager to give his best for Britain in the Davis Cup

Davis Cup teams

GROUP A: Bologna
Croatia: Marin Cilic, Borna Coric, Borna Gojo, Mate Pavic, Nikola Mektic. Captain – Vedran Martic
Italy: Jannik Sinner, Matteo Berrettini, Lorenzo Musetti, Fabio Fognini, Simone Bolelli. Captain – Filippo Volandri
Argentina: Diego Schwartzman, Francisco Cerundolo, Sebastian Baez, Horacio Zeballos, Maximo Gonzalez. Captain – Guillermo Coria
Sweden: Mikael Ymer, Elias Ymer, Jonathan Mridha, Karl Friberg, Andre Goransson. Captain – Johan Hedsberg

GROUP B: Valencia
Spain: Carlos Alcaraz, Pablo Carreño, Roberto Bautista, Alejandro Davidovich, Marcel Granollers. Captain – Sergi Bruguera
Canada: Vasek Pospisil, Alexis Galarneau, Liam Draxl, Gabriel Diallo, Cleeve Harper. Captain – Frank Dancevic
Serbia: Novak Djokovic, Miomir Kecmanovic, Filip Krajinovic, Laslo Djere, Dusan Lajovic. Captain – Viktor Troicki
Korea Rep.: Soonwoo Kwon, Seongchan Hong, JiSung Nam, MinKyu Song. Captain – Seungkyu Park

GROUP C: Hamburg
France: Benjamin Bonzi, Adrian Mannarino, Arthur Rinderknech, Nicolas Mahut. Captain – Sebastien Grosjean
Germany: Alexander Zverev, Oscar Otte, Jan-Lennard Struff, Tim Puetz, Kevin Krawietz. Captain – Michael Kohlmann
Belgium: David Goffin, Zizou Bergs, Michael Geerts, Sander Gille, Joran Vliegen. Captain – Johan Van Herck
Australia: Alex de Minaur, Thanasi Kokkinakis, Matthew Ebden, Max Purcell. Captain – Lleyton Hewitt.

GROUP D: Glasgow
USA: Taylor Fritz, Frances Tiafoe, Tommy Paul, Jack Sock, Rajeev Ram. Captain – Mardy Fish
Great Britain: Cameron Norrie, Daniel Evans, Andy Murray, Joe Salisbury, Neal Skupski. Captain – Leon Smith
Kazakhstan: Alexander Bublik, Dmitry Popko, Mikhail Kukushkin, Andrey Golubev, Aleksandr Nedovyesov. Captain – Yuriy Schukin
Netherlands: Botic van de Zandschulp, Tallon Griekspoor, Tim van Rijthoven, Wesley Koolhof, Matwe Middelkoop. Captain – Paul Haarhuis