The 4 longest men’s grass-court winning streaks: ft. Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic

Ewan West
Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic with the Wimbledon trophy
Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic with the Wimbledon trophy

There are three players who have won 30 or more consecutive men’s singles matches on grass courts in the Open Era. 

Roger Federer, who is considered by many to be the greatest grass-court player of all time, holds the record with an astonishing tally.

Here, we look at the four longest grass-court winning streaks in men’s singles in the Open Era.

4. Rod Laver – 24 matches (1969-1970)

Rod Laver amassed 24 straight wins on grass in an impressive run in 1969 and 1970 that included four tournament triumphs.

The Australian started the streak at the 1969 Wimbledon Championships, where he beat compatriot John Newcombe in the title match.

After adding a title in Baltimore in August 1969, Laver overcame fellow Australian Tony Roche in the 1969 US Open championship match to complete a sensational calendar Grand Slam. The New York Major was played on grass until 1974.

Laver next played a grass-court event in Sydney in 1970 and he claimed the title, before his run on the surface was halted by a loss to Nikola Pilic in the Bristol final later that season.

The 11 countries to produce Wimbledon men’s champions in the Open Era: United States at No 1

3. Novak Djokovic – 34 matches (2018-2023)

Novak Djokovic won 34 consecutive matches on grass during an amazing streak at Wimbledon that started in 2018 and ended in 2023.

The Serbian secured four of his seven Wimbledon titles in successive editions of the grass-court Grand Slam in 2018, 2019, 2021 and 2022.

In the title matches, Djokovic defeated Kevin Anderson in 2018, Roger Federer in 2019, Matteo Berrettini in 2021, and Nick Kyrgios in 2022.

The tennis legend made a fifth straight Wimbledon final in 2023 and he saw his run, and bid for an eighth crown, end with a five-set loss to Carlos Alcaraz in a thrilling contest.

The 6 longest Wimbledon men’s winning streaks: Roger Federer joint-top, Novak Djokovic 3rd

Wimbledon: The 9 greatest men’s singles champions – ranked!

2. Bjorn Borg – 41 matches (1976-1981)

Bjorn Borg earned 41 successive match victories on grass courts between 1976 and 1981, with all of these wins coming at Wimbledon.

The Swede claimed five of his 11 Grand Slam titles at Wimbledon, with all of these triumphs coming in five straight years from 1976-1980.

In the finals, Borg downed Ilie Nastase in 1976, Jimmy Connors in 1977 and 1978, Roscoe Tanner in 1979, and John McEnroe in 1980.

The tennis icon reached a sixth Wimbledon final in a row in 1981 and his remarkable run came to an end as he fell to a four-set defeat to McEnroe in a rematch of their classic 1980 meeting.

1. Roger Federer – 65 matches (2003-2008)

Roger Federer won an incredible 65 consecutive matches on grass courts in a run that spanned from 2003 to 2008 and featured 10 titles.

The streak started at the 2003 Halle Open, where Federer defeated Nicolas Kiefer in the final to secure the first of his 19 career grass-court titles.

Federer then won his maiden Grand Slam crown at Wimbledon in 2003, where he saw off Mark Philippoussis in the championship match.

The Swiss added four more titles in both Halle and Wimbledon during his streak, before it came to an end at the 2008 Wimbledon Championships.

The tennis great was denied a sixth straight Wimbledon crown and 11th grass-court title in a row by his great rival Rafael Nadal, who prevailed in five sets in an all-time great clash.

The 11 men with the most Wimbledon match wins: Roger Federer No 1, Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal feature