The 6 longest Wimbledon men’s winning streaks: Roger Federer joint-top, Novak Djokovic 3rd

Ewan West
Bjorn Borg and Roger Federer celebrate winning Wimbledon
Bjorn Borg and Roger Federer kiss the Wimbledon trophy

On six occasions in the Open Era, players have won 20 or more consecutive matches in the men’s singles event at Wimbledon.

Carlos Alcaraz is the defending champion at the 2024 Wimbledon Championships and is looking to add to the seven straight victories he earned during his 2023 title run at the All England Club.

Here, we look at the six longest winning streaks at Wimbledon in men’s singles in the Open Era.

6. Rafael Nadal – 20 matches

After losing to Roger Federer in the 2006 and 2007 Wimbledon finals, Rafael Nadal won 20 straight matches at the grass-court Grand Slam between 2008 and 2011.

The Spaniard overcame Federer in an epic five-set championship match in 2008 to claim his first title at the All England Club. Nadal was unable to defend his crown in 2009 as injury forced him to withdraw.

On his return to Wimbledon in 2010, Nadal downed Tomas Berdych in straight sets in the final to win his second and most recent title at the event.

Nadal reached the title match at Wimbledon again in 2011 and his winning streak was broken by a four-set defeat to Novak Djokovic.

The 11 men with the most Wimbledon match wins: Roger Federer No 1, Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal feature

5. Pete Sampras – 25 matches

Pete Sampras earned 25 consecutive victories at Wimbledon between 1993 and 1996 in a run that included three titles.

The American downed Jim Courier in four sets, Goran Ivanisevic in straight sets and Boris Becker in four sets in the respective Wimbledon finals in 1993, 1994, and 1995.

In 1996, Sampras took his winning streak at Wimbledon to 25 matches by reaching the quarter-finals — where he was stunned in straight sets by eventual champion Richard Krajicek.

4. Pete Sampras – 31 matches

Following his surprise loss in 1996, Sampras bettered his previous winning streak as he secured the next four Wimbledon titles.

The tennis great beat Cedric Pioline in straight sets, Ivanisevic in five sets, Andre Agassi in straight sets and Patrick Rafter in four sets in the 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2000 Wimbledon finals.

Sampras’s winning run was stopped at 31 matches by a five-set loss to Roger Federer in the fourth round at the 2001 Wimbledon Championships.

3. Novak Djokovic – 34 matches

Novak Djokovic won 34 matches in a row at Wimbledon between 2018 and 2023 as he claimed four of his seven titles at the event during this period.

The Serbian defeated Kevin Anderson in straight sets in the 2018 final, before overcoming Roger Federer in five sets in a thrilling 2019 championship match.

After the 2020 edition of Wimbledon was cancelled, Djokovic added his third and fourth consecutive titles with four-set triumphs over Matteo Berrettini and Nick Kyrgios in the 2021 and 2022 finals.

In 2023, Djokovic came within a single set of making it five straight Wimbledon titles as he fell in an enthralling five-set championship match to Carlos Alcaraz.

The 15 men to beat Novak Djokovic on grass – ft. Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal

=1. Roger Federer – 41 matches

Between 2003 and 2008, Roger Federer equalled Borg’s Open Era men’s singles records for the most consecutive titles and match wins at Wimbledon.

The Swiss collected five of his record eight Wimbledon crowns during the run — starting with a straight-set victory over Mark Philippoussis in the 2003 final to win his maiden Major.

Federer downed Andy Roddick in the 2004 and 2005 title matches in four sets and straight sets, before beating Nadal in the 2006 and 2007 finals in four sets and five sets.

The tennis legend reached a sixth straight Wimbledon final in 2008 and saw his incredible 41-match winning streak snapped as he lost to Nadal in a five-set classic.

The 12 men to beat Roger Federer at Wimbledon – ft. Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic

=1. Bjorn Borg – 41 matches

Like Federer, Bjorn Borg won 41 straight matches at Wimbledon and triumphed at the All England Club in five successive years.

The Swede secured the first of his five Wimbledon crowns in 1976, when he saw off Ilie Nastase in straight sets in the final.

Borg defeated Jimmy Connors in straight sets and five sets in the 1977 and 1978 title matches, before overcoming Roscoe Tanner in a five-setter in the 1979 final. In the 1980 championship match, Borg edged out John McEnroe in a five-set epic regarded as one of the all-time great matches.

The tennis icon reached the final at the grass-court Grand Slam again in 1981 and his remarkable run ended as he fell in four sets to McEnroe.

The 8 men to defend their Wimbledon titles in the Open Era: Can Carlos Alcaraz join Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer?