The eight men to defend Queen’s Club title – as Carlos Alcaraz looks to become No 9

Andy Murray at the Queen's Club.
Andy Murray is one of eight men to successfully defend the Queen's Club title.

One of the most prestigious titles on tour, the Queen’s Club Championships has crowned greats of the game in its storied history.

And a modern-day great was crowned in 2023, with Carlos Alcaraz claiming the first grass title of his career.

The world No 2 is back again this year, eyeing up a successful defence of his crown.

Should he prevail once again, he would follow in the footsteps of eight others who have defended the title in the Open Era.

Matteo Berrettini: 2022-23

The last man to defend the Queen’s title was Berrettini, who did so when the event returned post-COVID in 2021 and 2022.

The Italian won the title for the first time three years ago, beating home favourite Cameron Norrie in three sets in the final.

And the former Wimbledon finalist then recaptured the title the following year, beating surprise finalist Filip Krajinovic in straight sets.

Carlos Alcaraz vs Alex de Minaur final, Grigor Dimitrov threatens, Jack Draper stars in our Queen’s Club predictions

Queen’s Club 2024: Carlos Alcaraz handed tough opener by Cinch Championships draw

Andy Murray: 2015-16

The most successful champion in Queen’s history, Murray’s record of five titles is unmatched – and his last two triumphs came consecutively, in 2015 and 2016.

Nine years ago, the former world No 1 delivered an impressive display to dispatch big-serving Kevin Anderson in straight sets to pick up a record-equalling fourth crown.

He claimed that record outright 12 months later, coming from a set down to beat Milos Raonic – in a precursor to their Wimbledon final later that summer.

Andy Roddick: 2003-05

A four-time champion at Queen’s, former US Open winner Roddick won three straight titles at the event in the mid-2000s.

In back-to-back identical finals, the American beat French star Sebastien Grosjean in straight sets in both the 2003 and 2004 finals.

While he prevailed in straight sets again the following year, versus Ivo Karlovic.

Andy Roddick reveals way Carlos Alcaraz is different to Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer

Lleyton Hewitt: 2000-02

Hewitt is another man to win four Queen’s titles, and have three of them come consecutively.

The Australian beat defending champion Pete Sampras in straight sets to claim the first of his titles in 2000, aged only 19.

He then beat home favourite Tim Henman in straight sets in the 2001 final, before beating the Brit from a set down in the 2002 championships match.

Ivan Lendl: 1989-90

One of the most dominant players of the 1980s and early 1990s, former world No 1 Lendl won his two Queen’s titles in consecutive years.

The Czech star came from a set down to win his first title in 1980, beating the unheralded Christo van Rensburg from a set down to take the title.

The following year he beat one of his great rivals to complete a successful title defence, downing Boris Becker in straight sets.

Boris Becker: 1987-88

Becker lost in the 1990 final but he was a four-time winner overall and won consecutive titles in 1987 and 1988.

Rallying from a set down, Becker beat Jimmy Connors to claim the title in 1987, regaining the trophy he first won in 1985.

The German then won a third crown – and sealed back-to-back triumphs – in 1988, beating his great rival Stefan Edberg in three sets.

Jimmy Connors: 1982-83

One of the greatest players of the 1970s and early 1980s, Connors won three Queen’s titles – including consecutive triumphs in 1982 and 1983.

Ten years after winning his first victory, Connors downed long-term rival John McEnroe in straight sets to reclaim the title in 1982.

Connors then beat McEnroe again the following year, also in straight sets, for the final of his three victories.

John McEnroe: 1979-81

McEnroe may have lost back-to-back finals to Connors, but the American won three straight titles in the years before that.

He won the first of his Queen’s titles in 1979, coming from a set down to beat Victor Pecci in the final.

The former world No 1 then beat Kim Warwick and Brian Gottfried in 1980 and 1981 respectively, winning both finals in straight sets.