The 9 women who have claimed the Madrid Open title

Aryna Sabalenka Petra Kvitova
Aryna Sabalenka and Petra Kvitova have won multiple titles in Madrid

Since switching surfaces 15 years ago, the Madrid Open has become a vital part of the clay court season.

While it has been an established men’s event for the best part of two decades, it was only when the renewed event first took place in 2009 that a women’s tournament was introduced.

Since then, nine players have claimed the title – here are all of them.

Dinara Safina – 2009

The first women’s champion in Madrid was then-world No 1 Safina, who showcased her clay court prowess with victory in the Spanish capital.

Top seed at the event, Safina cruised through the draw, with a third-round contest against Lucie Safarova the only match in which she dropped a set on her way to the final.

And the three-time major finalist continued her fine form in the final, beating Caroline Wozniacki 6-2, 6-4 to become the event’s first WTA champion.

Aravane Rezai – 2010

Undoubtedly the most surprising women’s champion in Madrid history, unheralded Frenchwoman Rezai claimed the biggest title of her career at the tournament in 2010.

Rezai started her campaign with a battling victory over the returning Justine Henin before victories over the likes of Andrea Petkovic and seventh seed Jelena Jankovic saw her make the final.

She was a significant underdog in the final against Venus Williams but stunned the American with a 6-2, 7-5 victory to lift her only WTA 1000 crown.

Petra Kvitova – 2011, 2015, 2018

The most successful women’s champions to date, the Madrid Open is one of just two tournaments that Kvitova has won on three occasions.

Her first triumph came in 2011 when, seeded 16th, she shocked fourth seed Victoria Azarenka 7-6(3), 6-4 to claim her first WTA 1000 title.

Four years later she stunned Serena Williams in a scintillating semi-final display, before beating Svetlana Kuznetsova 6-1, 6-2 for a second crown.

And she completed her trifecta of Madrid titles in 2018, defeating Kiki Bertens 7-6(6), 4-6, 6-3 in a thrilling final.

Serena Williams – 2012, 2013

Williams is currently one of just two women to successfully defend the Madrid Open title, with consecutive victories in 2012 and 2013.

In the infamous ‘blue clay’ year of 2012, the former world No 1 stormed to the first of her two titles, downing Azarenka 6-1, 6-3 in the final.

And it was a similarly emphatic display from her in the 2013 final, dropping just five games in a 6-1, 6-4 win over Maria Sharapova to claim victory amid her 34-match win streak.

Read More: The 6 WTA legends to spend a full calendar year as world No 1

Maria Sharapova – 2014

A year after losing the final, Sharapova went one better by claiming her sole Madrid title a decade ago.

The five-time major winner battled from a set down to beat Li Na in the last eight before a more convincing victory saw her beat Agnieszka Radwanska to reach the final.

And she had to rally again to claim the title, winning just one game in the first set before battling past Simona Halep 1-6, 6-2, 6-3 to seal victory.

Simona Halep – 2016, 2017

A four-time finalist in Madrid, Halep became the second woman to win back-to-back Madrid crowns with her triumphs in 2016 and 2017.

Halep dropped just one set on her way to the title in 2016 – against Irina-Camelia Begu in the last eight – with a comfortable 6-4, 6-2 win over Dominika Cibulkova in the final.

Twelve months later the Romanian was engulfed in a Madrid classic, but battled past Kristina Mladenovic 7-5, 6-7(5), 6-2 to successfully defend her crown.

Read More: Simona Halep’s comeback dealt another blow after latest withdrawal

Kiki Bertens – 2019

A beaten finalist the previous year, Bertens went one better in 2019 to claim one of the biggest titles of her career.

The seventh seed beat Kvitova in a rematch of the 2018 final to reach the last four, where she held off Sloane Stephens in straight sets to reach her second final at the WTA 1000 event.

The Dutchwoman then produced a sensational performance to claim the title, beating reigning French Open champion Halep 6-4, 6-4 to win her second WTA 1000 title.

Aryna Sabalenka – 2021, 2023

The only clay court tournament she has won so far in her career, current world No 2 Sabalenka has truly found herself at home in the Spanish capital.

Three years ago Sabalenka did not drop a set on her way to the final and battled past then-world No 1 Ashleigh Barty 6-0, 4-6, 6-3 to claim what was one of the biggest titles of her career at the time.

And she competes in Madrid this year as the defending champion, battling past Iga Swiatek 6-3, 3-6, 6-3 in a thriller 12 months ago to claim a second title at the event.

Ons Jabeur – 2022

One of the most popular players on tour, Jabeur picked up the biggest title of her career in the Spanish capital two years ago.

After a couple of three-set matches early on, the Tunisian beat former champion Halep and surprise semi-finalist Ekaterina Alexandrova to reach the final as the eighth seed.

In a topsy-turvy match which ebbed and flowed, she rallied from a poor second set to defeat Jessica Pegula 7-5, 0-6, 6-2 and claim the most prestigious of her five career titles.

Read More: Madrid Open boss hits back at Ons Jabeur over ‘unfair’ gender inequality claim