The 11 countries to produce Wimbledon women’s singles champions in Open Era

Venus Williams and Steffi Graf with the Venus Rosewater Dish
America's Venus Williams and Germany's Steffi Graf are legendary Wimbledon champions

Some of the greatest female tennis players of all time have claimed the women’s singles title at Wimbledon.

And across the 56 years of the Open Era, players from 11 nations have lifted the iconic Venus Rosewater Dish.

We take you through every country to produce a female Wimbledon champion.

United States – 6

The United States has proven to be the dominant nation in the women’s singles, producing six champions in the professional era.

No one has won more titles than Martina Navratilova, who won nine titles representing her adopted country after fleeing Czechoslovakia as a teenager.

Her great rival Chris Evert also won three titles at the All England Club, while tennis icon Billie Jean King won four of her six Wimbledon titles in the Open Era – including the first pro event in 1968.

More recently, Lindsay Davenport won the title 25 years ago in 1999, while Venus and Serena Williams won a combined 12 singles titles across the 2000s and 2010s.

Australia – 3

Australia has produced some of the greatest tennis players in history, with three Open Era Wimbledon women’s champions coming from the nation.

The first to do so was Margaret Court, who lifted the title in 1970 on her way to a Calendar Grand Slam, and she was followed by Evonne Goolagong in 1971 – and again as a mum in 1980.

Three years ago, they were joined in the record books by Ashleigh Barty, who lifted the Venus Rosewater Dish in what proved to be her final SW19 campaign.

Ashleigh Barty set for a Wimbledon comeback – but it’s not all it seems

Venus & Serena Williams: Wimbledon dominance ends after 27-year reign

The last 7 Wimbledon women’s singles winners: ft. Serena Williams and Ashleigh Barty

Czechia – 3

Navratilova may have won her titles representing the US, but Czechia has still produced three other Wimbledon champions in the women’s game.

The first of those was the late, great Jana Novotna, who memorably claimed the title in 1998 after final defeats in 1993 and 1997.

She was followed by Petra Kvitova, who claimed her two Slam titles at the tournament in 2011 and 2014 before Marketa Vondrousova became the first unseeded champion in 2023.

Spain – 2

There is some nice symmetry connecting Spain’s two female Wimbledon champions.

This year marks the 30th anniversary of Conchita Martinez’s triumph at the All England Club, with the former world No 2 claiming her first and only major at the event.

And, 23 years after her triumph, she was in Garbine Muguruza’s coaching box as she lifted her second Grand Slam title by beating Venus Williams.

Germany – 2

Few players have defined Wimbledon quite like Steffi Graf, with the German winning an impressive seven titles at the All England Club.

Graf won her first titles in 1988 and 1989 under the West German flag, before winning the title a further five times after the country’s reunification.

In 2018, Graf was followed into the history books by three-time major winner Angelique Kerber, who finally claimed the title after a loss in the final two years prior.

Wimbledon: The 4 defending champions to lose first round – as Marketa Vondrousova joins unfortunate club

Wimbledon Quiz: Can you answer these 13 questions from top TV show?

The 10 women with the most Wimbledon match wins: Serena Williams 2nd, Steffi Graf 5th

Great Britain – 2

Only two British women can claim to have won their home Grand Slam tournament in the Open Era.

The first of those was Ann Jones, who claimed her sole Wimbledon title in 1969, coming from a set down to beat King in a thrilling final.

Eight years after that triumph, Virginia Wade became the latest homegrown player to lift the Venus Rosewater Dish by downing Betty Stove in the 1977 final.

France – 2

The last two French players to win singles Slams – men or women – were two WTA stars at the All England Club, within the last two decades.

The first to do so was former world No 1 Amelie Mauresmo, who beat great rival Justine Henin in three sets to win the second of her two major titles.

Seven years on, Marion Bartoli memorably claimed her Wimbledon title – and retired from the sport just a few weeks later.

Russia – 1

Wednesday marked 20 years since Maria Sharapova memorably won her first major title at SW19, beating Serena Williams in the final.

It was the first of five Grand Slam wins for the Russian, and she remains the only player from the country to lift the title two decades on.

Wimbledon: The 9 greatest women’s singles champions – ranked!

Maria Sharapova opens up about Serena Williams relationship – and reveals advice to current tennis stars

2004 Wimbledon: Maria Sharapova’s stunning SW19 triumph – 20 years on

Kazakhstan – 1

Russian-born Elena Rybakina made history for Kazakhstan by becoming the first singles Grand Slam champion in the nation’s history two years ago.

The future world No 3 battled from a set down to beat Ons Jabeur in the final and is backed by some to win a second title at the All England Club this fortnight.

Switzerland – 1

One of the most popular WTA players of all time, Martina Hingis was a famed champion at Wimbledon back in 1997.

Amid one of the most dominant tennis seasons of all time, the 16-year-old Swiss star defeated Novotna to claim the second of her five Grand Slam singles titles.

Romania – 1

Simona Halep is best associated with clay courts, but she proved a dab hand on the grass courts of SW19 five years ago.

The former world No 1 stunned Serena Williams to win the title in 2019, dropping just four games to become Romania’s first Wimbledon winner.