The 11 countries to produce Wimbledon men’s champions in the Open Era: United States at No 1

Shahida Jacobs
Wimbledon champions Roger Federer, Pete Sampras and Novak Djokovic with the trophy
Multiple Wimbledon champions Roger Federer, Pete Sampras and Novak Djokovic kiss the trophy

Twenty-two different players have won the Wimbledon men’s singles title since the start of the Open Era and they have come from 11 different countries.

But do you know which nation has produced the most Wimbledon men’s champions since 1968?

Australia, of course, has the honour of being home to the first Wimbledon men’s champion when the sport turned professional more than 50 years ago and they are second on the list for countries with the most different champions.

However, let’s look at the overall tally for nations with the most titles.

=9. Czechoslovakia, Netherlands, Croatia – 1 title

Jan Kodes is the only player from Czechoslovakia to win a Grand Slam as by the time Martina Navratilova became a major champion she was already an American citizen and the likes of Jana Novotna, Petra Kvitova and Marketa Vondrousova won the title under the Czech Republic umbrella.

Kodes is a three-time Grand Slam winner, but he won his only Wimbledon title in 1973.

The 1996 Wimbledon final threw up two surprise finalists in Richard Krajicek and MaliVai Washington and it was the Dutchman who came away with a 6–3, 6–4, 6–3 victory over Washington.

The 2001 Wimbledon fairytale will live long in the memory as unseeded wildcard Goran Ivanisevic won his maiden Grand Slam despite being ranked No 125 at the beginning of the tournament. Ivanisevic defeated Pat Rafter in five sets on the third Monday.

The 8 men to defend their Wimbledon titles in the Open Era: Can Carlos Alcaraz join Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer?

The 12 men to win Wimbledon more than once in the Open Era: Roger Federer at No 1. Will Carlos Alcaraz join the list?

The 6 women to win Wimbledon without dropping a set in the Open Era: Martina Navratilova peerless

8. Great Britain – 2 titles

Host nation Great Britain won 35 Wimbledon men’s singles titles before 1968, but only two since then with Andy Murray the only British player to get his hands on the trophy. He ended 77 years of heartbreak in 2013 when he defeated Novak Djokovic in the 2013 final and three years later he won his second title.

7. Spain – 3 titles

Spain surpassed Great Britain in 2023 as they went from one Wimbledon champion to two different Wimbledon champions. Rafael Nadal became the first Spaniard to win the grass-court major in 2008 when he beat defending champion Roger Federer and two years later he doubled his tally.

Carlos Alcaraz became the second Spaniard to win the men’s title in 2023 when he defeated Novak Djokovic in the final.

6. Germany – 4 titles

Germany has also had only two different men’s title winners at Wimbledon as Boris Becker won three while Michael Stich claimed one trophy in 1991.

Becker became the youngest ever male major singles champion aged 17 years, 7 months and 15 days in 1985 when he beat Kevin Curren in the final and he successfully defended his title the following year before winning a third trophy in 1989.

5. Australia – 6 titles

Four different Australians have won the Wimbledon men’s singles title, which puts them second behind the United States in that particular category.

The great Rod Laver won titles in 1968 and 1969 before John Newcombe won the trophy in 1970 and 1971. They had to wait until 1987 for another title as Pat Cash won his only major and 15 years later Lleyton Hewitt won a six title for Australia.

=3. Sweden – 7 titles

Only two different Swedes have won the Wimbledon title with Bjorn Borg lifting the trophy for five consecutive years from 1976 to 1980.

Eight years later Sweden had a second Wimbledon winner as Stefan Edberg defeated Becker in the 1988 final and two years later he won his second title when he again defeated the German.

=3. Serbia – 7 titles

Only one Serbian has lifted the Wimbledon trophy and that man is Novak Djokovic.

The tennis great won his first title at the All England Club in 2011 when he beat defending champion Rafael Nadal in the final. Three years later he won title No 2 and in 2015 he became a three-time champion.

But his most dominant period started in 2018 as he won four titles in a row with his hopes of a fifth consecutive one ended by Alcaraz in the 2023 final.

2. Switzerland – 8 titles

Roger Federer leads the list for most titles won at Wimbledon and he is the only Swiss man to win the trophy at SW19.

The Swiss Maestro won his maiden crown in 2003 and emulated Borg by winning five in a row. After Nadal ended his run in the 2008 final, he won his other titles in 2009, 2012 and 2017. He had the chance to make it nine in 2019, but lost the final against Djokovic.

1. United States – 15 titles

Stan Smith was the first American to win the Wimbledon men’s singles title in the Open Era in 1972 while Pete Sampras was the last winner in 2000.

Sampras has been the dominant figure as he won seven of the United States’ 15 titles, including four in a row from 1997.

Jimmy Connors (1974, 1982), Arthur Ashe (1975), John McEnroe (1981, 1983, 1984) and Andre Agassi (1992) are the other American men to win the trophy.