Fed Cup Finals draw confirmed as holders France paired with Russia and Hungary

Fed Cup Finals trophy

The draw for the inaugural Fed Cup Finals in Budapest has seen defending champions France land in Group A alongside hosts Hungary and Russia.

Julien Benneteau’s France squad won their third Fed Cup title last year when they beat Australia 3-2 away in Perth.

The winners of Group A will face the winners of Group C in the semi-finals.

Eighteen-times Fed Cup winners the United States are the strong favourites to advance from that group, which also contains Slovakia and Spain.

Last year’s runners-up Australia will take on Belgium and Belarus in Group B and the winners from that pool will face one of the Czech Republic, Germany and Switzerland in the last four.

The revamped $18 million Fed Cup Finals will be held from April 14-19.

The players competing at the week-long event will split $12 million with the other $6 million going to their federations.

“Women’s tennis has always been the leader in women’s sport,” tennis great Billie Jean King said.

“This sends a very strong message. I’m very excited and really want to thank Hungary and everyone involved. This is an amazing opportunity.”

Group A
France, Hungary, Russia

Group B
Australia, Belgium, Belarus

Group C
United States, Slovakia, Spain

Group D
Czech Republic, Germany, Switzerland

Like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter @T365Official.