‘It was very awkward déjà vu,’ says Novak Djokovic after accidentally hitting a line umpire again

French Open
Novak Djokovic looking to the sky

Just a few weeks after he was defaulted from the US Open after hitting a line umpire in the throat with a ball, Novak Djokovic had another “awkward situation” with an official at the French Open.

The world No 1 was kicked out of the New York tournament after he hit a ball in frustration and it accidentally hit the line umpire during his fourth-round encounter against Pablo Carreno Busta.

And Djokovic had another scare during the fourth round against Karen Khachanov at Roland Garros on Monday as one of his shots struck the official, but this time he faced no punishment as it was during a point.

After the match the 17-time Grand Slam winner admitted he had his heart in his mouth, but just for a few seconds.

“My gosh, it was very awkward déjà vu,” he said.

“I’m actually trying to find the lines person and see if he’s okay because I saw he had a little bit of a bruise, like redness, in that place in the head where the ball hit him.

“I hope he’s fine. He definitely dealt with it in a very strong and brave way. But it was a hit because I was very close. Obviously because of what happened in New York, people… are going to make the story out of this.

“It has happened to me and to many other players in the last 15 years that I’ve been on the tour. I’ve seen it a lot when the ball ricochets from the racket and the frame, hits someone in the stands, or someone that is close to you or line umpire.

“It was a very awkward situation obviously.”

Follow us on Twitter @T365Official and like our Facebook page.

Latest