Open Era male Grand Slam winners by country: has your country won a Slam?

The United States has the most male Grand Slam winners in the Open Era, but how many different countries have produced a major winner?

The 2018 Australian Open was the 200th Grand Slam since the Open Era started back in 1968 and only 20 different countries can actually lay claim to having a Slam winner.

In case you were wondering, there are currently 193 United Nations member states so 178 nations haven’t had a male Grand Slam winner.

Of course, the United States tops the list as they have won 51 of the 200 majors and they have had 12 different winners with Pete Sampras leading the way with 14 Grand Slams.

Sweden has been hanging onto second place for nearly two decades with Thomas Johansson’s 2002 Australian Open title the last of their Grand Slams with four men splitting their 25 titles.

Spain and Switzerland share third place with 23 titles and, unsurprisingly, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer top their lists with 16 and 20 majors respectively.

Australia is next with 20 titles and they are followed by Czechoslovakia / Czech Republic and Serbia on 12 each. Interestingly, Novak Djokovic is propping up Serbia all by himself as he has won all their titles.

It’s the same with Brazil and the United Kingdom with Gustavo Kuerten and Andy Murray winning three Grand Slams each. The UK is also the last country to join the current list with Murray’s first title coming in 2012. Again, this is just during the Open Era.

There are five countries with only one Grand Slam to their name with Italy (Adriano Panatta), France (Yannick Noah), Ecuador (Andres Gomez) and the Netherlands (Richard Krajicek) bottom of the list.

If we were to include champions before the Open Era, then Hungary (Jozsef Asboth), Egypt (Jaroslav Drobný) and Mexico (Rafael Osuna) would join the list.

Grand Slam singles titles won by country during the Open Era:
United States (51 titles)
Pete Sampras (14), Andre Agassi (8) Jimmy Connors (8), John McEnroe (7), Jim Courier (4), Arthur Ashe (3), Stan Smith (2), Vitas Gerulaitis (1), Roscoe Tanner (1), Brian Teacher (1), Michael Chang (1), Andy Roddick (1)

Sweden (25)
Bjorn Borg (11), Mats Wilander (7), Stefan Edberg (6), Thomas Johanssen (1).

Spain (23)
Rafael Nadal (16), Sergi Bruguera (2), Andrés Gimeno (1), Manuel Orantes (1), Carlos Moyá (1), Albert Costa (1), Juan Carlos Ferrero (1)

Switzerland (23)
Roger Federer (20), Stan Wawrinka (3)

Australia (20)
Rod Laver (5), John Newcombe (5), Ken Rosewall (4), Pat Rafter (2), Lleyton Hewitt (2), Mark Edmondson (1), Pat Cash (1)

Czechoslovakia / Czech Republic (12)
Ivan Lendl (8), Jan Kodeš (3), Petr Korda

Serbia (12)
Novak Djokovic (12)

Germany / West Germany (7)
Boris Becker (6), Michael Stich (1)

Argentina (6)
Guillermo Vilas (4), Gastón Gaudio (1), Juan Martin del Potro (1)

Russia (4)
Yevgeny Kafelnikov (2), Marat Safin (2)

Brazil (3)
Gustavo Kuerten

United Kingdom (3)
Andy Murray

Croatia (2)
Goran Ivanisevic (1), Marin Cilic

Romania (2)
Ilie Nastase (2)

South Africa (2)
Johan Kriek (2)

Austria (1)
Thomas Muster

Ecuador (1)
Andres Gomez

France (1)
Yannick Noah

Italy (1)
Adriano Panatta

Netherlands (1)
Richard Krajicek