Wimbledon 2020: From the BBC’s The Best of the Championships to the 2020 Fortnight

BBC Wimbledon

There is no Wimbledon this year, but that doesn’t mean you won’t be able to get your grass-court Grand Slam fix as the BBC and the All England Lawn Tennis Club (AELTC) are keeping fans entertained.

Wimbledon 2020 was due to run from June 29 with Championship Sunday taking place on July 13, but sadly there will be no live action as The Championships was cancelled for the first time since World War II as the coronavirus pandemic forced tennis to go on a hiatus.

However, AELTC and the BBC are doing all they can to fill the void with some classic matches from yesteryear, interviews with current and former greats, photo galleries, features, social media clips and more.

Wimbledon’s 2020 Fortnight will centre around ‘The Greatest Championships’, a round-by-round re-telling of some of the best Wimbledon matches in history, brought to life in a digital experience hosted on wimbledon.com.

Matches will be available to watch in full, searchable by point and excitement, alongside statistics, photo galleries and features.

Meanwhile, BBC Sport will screen more than 50 hours of Wimbledon footage over the next two weeks, including the hour-long Wimbledon: The Best of the Championships on BBC Two from 20:00 BST Monday to Friday.

There will also be Wimbledon Rewind weekdays on BBC Two while Andy Murray’s Greatest Hits will be screened on BBC One over two days.

Wimbledon Rewind – BBC Two
Weekdays 29 June-10 July

Wimbledon: The Best of the Championships – BBC Two
Weekdays 29 June-10 July (20:00)

Andy Murray’s Greatest Hits – BBC One
4 July (13:15) & 5 July (14:00)

Wimbledon: The Greatest Final – BBC One
11 July (13:15) & 12 July (14:05)

One Day 12 July (19:00) BBC One

Full Wimbledon Rewind Schedule
Monday – June 29 – 13:30-16:30
The 2008 Wimbledon men’s singles final between Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal.

Tuesday – June 30 – 13:30-16:30
The 1978 classic final between Martina Navratilova and Chris Evert, and Venus Williams and Lindsay Davenport’s epic 2005 final.

Wednesday – July 1 – 13:30-16:30
The 1992 final between Andre Agassi and Goran Ivanisevic as well as Goran Ivanisevics 2001 final win over Pat Rafter.

Thursday – July 2 – 13:30-16:30
The 1985 final featuring a 17-year-old Boris Becker against Kevin Curran; Steffi Graf versus Arantxa Sanchez Vicario in the 1995 final.

Friday – July 3 – 13:30-16:30
The 1977 final when Great Britain’s Virginia Wade’s took on Betty Stove, and the 1987 final between Ivan Lendl and Pat Cash.

Monday – July 6 – 14:15-17:15
The 1980 final between Evonne Goolagong Cawley and Chris Evert; Bjorn Borg against John McEnroe in 1980.

Tuesday – July 7 – 14:15-17:15
The 1986 final featuring Billie Jean King and Ann Jones; Roger Federer versus Andy Roddick in 2009.

Wednesday – July 8 – 14:15-17:15
The 1993 final between Steffi Graf and Jana Novotna; the 1975 Jimmy Connors and Arthur Ashe 1975.

Thursday – July 9 – 14:15-17:15
The 2012 final featuring Serena Williams and Agnieszka Radwanska; Pete Sampras against Pat Rafter in 2000.

Friday – July 10 – 14:15-17:15
The 2019 final between Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer, and Simona Halep against Sererna Williams in the women’s final the same year.

Follow us on Twitter @T365Official.