Wimbledon 2024: Will Novak Djokovic and Emma Raducanu play? Dates, top seeds, draw, prize money

Shahida Jacobs
Wimbeldon Centre Court
An overview of Centre Court at Wimbeldon

The Championships, Wimbledon, is the third Grand Slam on the annual tennis calendar and this year will mark the 137th edition of the tournament.

What are the dates for Wimbledon 2024?

The 2024 edition of Wimbledon will get underway on Monday, July 1 and the tournament will come to an end on July 14. The ladies’ final will be staged on Saturday, July 13 with the gentlemen’s showpiece match taking place the following day.

This year marks the 130th edition of the ladies’ competition while it is the 56th time that the tournament has been hosted in the Open Era.

Qualifying will run from June 24-27 at the Community Sport Centre in Roehampton.

Where does Wimbledon take place?

The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club – a private members’ club in Church Road, Wimbledon – has staged Wimbledon since the inaugural tournament in 1877.

Centre Court – the most famous tennis court around the world – is the oldest court at the ground and it held its centenary anniversary at the 2022 tournament. Its main feature are the Royal Box, a retractable roof – which was opened in 2009 and cost £100 million to build – and can host up to 14,979 spectators.

No. 1 Court also underwent a major £70m renovations that was completed in 2019 and the court now boasts a retractable roof and has a capacity of 12,345.

No. 2 Court can host up to 4,000 people.

Carlos Alcaraz vs Jannik Sinner Wimbledon final, Novak Djokovic skips SW19, emotional Andy Murray farewell lead our ATP grass court season predictions

Aryna Sabalenka wins Wimbledon, Iga Swiatek finds her feet, Coco Gauff leads US charge in our WTA grass court season predictions

BBC’s broadcast team for Wimbledon 2024: ‘A defining voice’, a controversial figure and more

Who are the defending champions?

Wimbledon crowned first-time champions in both the men’s draw and women’s draw in 2023 as Carlos Alcaraz upset seven-time winner Novak Djokovic in an epic five-set match while Marketa Vondrosouva won the women’s title.

The Spaniard beat the likes of Holger Rune and Daniil Medvedev en route to the final before defeating Djokovic 1–6, 7–6 (8–6), 6–1, 3–6, 6–4 to win his second Grand Slam.

In the women’s draw, Vondrosouva beat Ons Jabeur 6-4, 6-4 to win her maiden major while the Tunisian lost her second consecutive final.

Wesley Koolhof and Neal Skupski teamed up to win the men’s doubles title, Hsieh Su-wei and Barbora Strycova were crowned women’s doubles champions and Mate Pavic and Lyudmyla Kichenok walked away with the mixed doubles trophy.

Who are the leading seeds?

Jannik Sinner will be the top seed at a Grand Slam for the first time in his career, but the No 2 seed will only be decided after the Queen’s Club tournament as Carlos Alcaraz needs to reach the final to stay ahead of Novak Djokovic.

They will be followed by Alexander Zverev, Daniil Medvedev, Andrey Rublev, Casper Ruud, Hubert Hurkacz, Alex de Minaur and Grigor Dimitrov.

On the women’s side, Iga Swiatek will once again be the top seed with Coco Gauff and Aryna Sabalenka battling it out in Berlin for the second seed status behind her.

Elena Ryabakina, Jessica Pegula, Marketa Vondrousova, Jasmine Paolini, Qinwen Zheng, Maria Sakkari and Ons Jabeur complete the top 10, but the cutoff date is June 24.

Only two British players are set to be seeded with Katie Boulter flying the flag in the women’s draw while Jack Draper is expected to be seeded in the men’s draw.

Which big-name players are set to miss this year’s tournament?

Rafael Nadal is the most high-profile player to have confirmed that he will not play at Wimbledon this year as he has opted to focus on the Olympics. The 22-time Grand Slam winner would have needed to use his protected ranking of nine to enter the main draw.

Current world No 25 Jiri Lehecka has also pulled out due to injury.

But the list of players with question marks over their participation is a lot longer as Novak Djokovic is currently recovering from knee surgery, Andy Murray is battling a back injury, and Dan Evans is also struggling with a right knee injury.

Two-time Wimbledon champion Petra Kvitova and current Olympic champion Belinda Bencic are the only players to have officially withdrawn from the women’s event as they are both on maternity leave.

However, defending champion Marketa Vondrousova suffered a nasty fall in Berlin, raising questions about her fitness, while Karolina Muchova is also struggling for fitness.

Which players have received wildcards?

The women’s wildcard list is an impressive one as it features four Grand Slam winners with local favourite and 2021 US Open winner Emma Raducanu getting a direct entry into the main draw.

Former world No 1s Naomi Osaka, Angelique Kerber and Caroline Wozniacki have also been handed wildcards along with the British trio of Francesca Jones, Lily Miyazaki and Heather Watson.

On the men’s side, seven British players will feature as Liam Broady, Jan Choinski, Jacob Fearnley, Arthur Fery, Billy Harris, Paul Jubb and Henry Searle have cracked the nod.

When is the draw for the Wimbledon 2024?

The draw will take place on Friday, June 28.

What is the daily schedule for the fortnight?

Play official gets underway at 11:00 BST every day on the outside courts while the action on No.1 Court starts at 13:00 before the main attraction on Centre Court begins at 13.30.

Matches on No.1 Court will start at 11 am on the final weekend while the women’s and men’s finals start at 14:00 on Centre Court on Saturday and Sunday, respectively.

Which TV channels and streaming services will broadcast the tournament?

The BBC IS Wimbledon as it is the host broadcaster. BBC One, BBC Two, BBC iPlayer and the Red Button will provide coverage during the tournament while you can also listen on BBC Radio 5 live sport. Daily highlights will also be available on Eurosport 1.

ESPN signed a new 12-year agreement in 2021 to broadcast Wimbledon in the United States. The company can show 140-plus hours of coverage while Tennis Channel is the online streaming service.

Eurosport will broadcast the tournament in most European countries along with beIN Sports (France), Amazon Prime (Germany and Austria), Sky Italia (Italy), Sport TV (Portugal), SRG/SSR TV (Switzerland) and Telefónica/Movistar + (Spain)

TSN Canada/RDS (French) will cover Canada, Nine Network will broadcast the tournament in Australia, Canal Plus International (Afrique) will service Africa and SuperSport will broadcast the tournament in South Africa.

Latin America will be serviced by ESPN, TV Globo/ESPN will air the tournament in Brazil while Eclat is the main broadcaster in Asia although China (CCTV5, IQIYI), India (Star Sports) and Japan (NHK, WOWOW) have their own broadcasters.

What is the prize money on offer at Wimbledon this year?

Wimbledon has increased its prize money to £50m, up 11.86% from the 2023 tournament with the winners’ cheques jumping by 15%.

Round Singles
Mixed W’chair
Winners £2,700,000 £650,000 £130,000 £65,000 £28,000 £65,000 £28,000
Runners-up £1,400,000 £330,000 £65,000 £34,000 £14,000 £34,000 £14,000
Semi-finalists £715,000 £167,000 £33,000 £23,000 £8,500 £23,000 £8,500
Quarter-finalists £375,000 £84,000 £17,000 £15,500 £5,250 £15,500 N/A
Fourth round £226,000 £42,000 £8,500 £10,000 N/A N/A N/A
Third round £143,000 £25,000 £4,250 N/A N/A N/A N/A
Second round £93,000 £15,750 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
First round £60,000 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Qualifying R3 £40,000 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Qualifying R2 £25,000 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Qualifying R1 £15,000 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

The 7 women to win French Open-Wimbledon double – as Iga Swiatek targets ‘Channel Slam’

The 5 players to win the Roland Garros-Wimbledon double: Will Carlos Alcaraz join list of players to win Channel Slam?