World Tennis League: Novak Djokovic, Nick Kyrgios, Iga Swiatek, Bianca Andreescu find out their teams

Indian Wells IGA SWIATEK WTA Tour

The team names and player draws for the inaugural World Tennis League have been confirmed with Novak Djokovic headlining The Falcons and Iga Swiatek playing for The Kites.

The new innovative exhibition league will take place in Dubai from 19-24 December.

The tournament features male and female players on the ATP and WTA Tours who are drawn into teams of four with the event starting off as a round-robin competition and the top two teams will contest the final.

Each round-robin match will consist of a men’s singles match, a women’s singles match and a mixed doubles match.

21-time Grand Slam winner Djokovic was the men’s headline act signing up for the tournament while world No 1 Swiatek is the leading women’s player.

They won’t be on the same team, though, with Djokovic joined by Grigor Dimitrov, Aryna Sabalenka and Paula Badosa in The Falcons.

Swiatek will partner Eugenie Bouchard, Felix Auger-Aliassime and Gael Monfils with doubles Grand Slam champion Sania Mirza also part of the The Kites.

“I like it most when tennis connects people and when it’s true entertainment,” Swiatek said at the launch.

“When it’s combined with a great show and music, it’s even better, so that’s the reason why I’m excited to join this year’s World Tennis League. I’m happy that together with other top players we’ll introduce tennis as fun to new audiences. I can’t wait.”

Alexander Zverev, who is set to make his return next month following several months on the sidelines, is in The Hawks alongside 2020 US Open champion Dominic Thiem, reigning Wimbledon champion Elena Rybakina and Anett Konteveit.

The Eagles feature Wimbledon runner-up Nick Kyrgios, former US Open champion Bianca Andreescu, Caroline Garcia as well as doubles specialist Rohan Bopanna and the recently retired Andreas Seppi.

“I love the team atmosphere. That’s why I am coming to play the WTL. It’s gonna be big,” Kyrgios said.

The Kites The Hawks The Falcons The Eagles
Felix Auger-Aliassime Alexander Zverev Novak Djokovic Nick Kygios
Gael Monfils Dominic Thiem Grigor Dimitrov Bianca Andreescu
Iga Swiatek Elena Rybakina Aryna Sabalenka Caroline Garcia
Eugenie Bouchard Anett Kontaveit Paula Badosa Rohan Bopanna
Sania Mirza Andreas Seppi

READ MORE: What is the World Tennis League: Dubai exhibition puts a new spin on team tennis