Battle of the Brits: When is it, who will take part, schedule, TV and video on demand channels

Shahida Jacobs
Andy Murray and Jamie Murray

Live tennis will return to Britain this week when the Battle of the Brits take centre stage and we give you the lowdown on the important things ahead of the tournament.

What is the Battle of the Brits?

Officially named ‘Schroders Battle of the Brits’, the exhibition tournament was organised by Jamie Murray, Schroders and Amazon Prime Video with the aim to £100,000 for NHS Charities Together.

Of course, it will also help Britain’s professional singles and doubles players to get some tennis under their belts after such a long layoff.

When will the tournament take place?

The exhibition tournament will take place at the National Tennis Centre in Roehampton from June 23-28 and it will be a behind-closed doors event with no spectators allowed.

Who will feature at the tournament?

Great Britain’s top eight male players and top eight doubles teams will play over the next six days.

Dan Eans (28), Kyle Edmund (44), Cameron Norrie (77), Andy Murray (129), Jay Clarke (161), Liam Brody (211), James Ward (273) and Jack Draper (285) are on the singles entry list.

As for the doubles competition, Jamie Murray and Neal Skupski (26 & 29), Joe Salisbury and Jonny O’Mara (7 & 54), Dan Evans and Lloyd Glasspool (152 & 179), Cameron Norrie and Liam Broady (208 & 309), Dominic Inglot and Jay Clarke (53 & n/a), and Kyle Edmund and Jack Draper (161 & 1023) make up the teams.

How will the tournament work?

A round-robin format will be used with the singles players divided into two groups of four named the Tim Henman Group and the Greg Rusedski Group.

Tim Henman Group Greg Rusedski Group
James Ward Jack Draper
Liam Brody Jay Clarke
Andy Murray Cameron Norrie
Kyle Edmund Dan Evans

The doubles pairs will be split into two groups of three, the Paul Hutchins Group and the Cathie Sabin Group.

Paul Hutchins Group Cathie Sabin Group
Liam Broady & Cameron Norrie Kyle Edmund & Jack Draper
Dan Evans & Lloyd Glasspool Dominic Inglot & Jay Clarke
Jamie Murray & Neal Skupski Joe Salisbury & Jonny O’Mara

The group winners and runners-up will progress to the semi-finals before the grand finals.

What about the order of play?

Date Match One Match Two Match Three Match Four Match Five
Tuesday June 23 Murray & Skupski vs Broady & Norrie Kyle Edmund vs James Ward Dan Evans vs Jay Clarke Andy Murray vs Liam Broady Draper & Edmund vs Clarke & Inglot
Wednesday June 24 Liam Broady vs James Ward Salisbury & O’Mara vs Clarke & Inglot Cameron Norrie vs Jack Draper Kyle Edmund vs Andy Murray Broady & Norrie vs Evans & Glasspool
Thursday June 25 Salisbury & O’Mara vs Draper & Edmund Dan Evans vs Cameron Norrie Jay Clarke vs Jack Draper Andy Murray vs James Ward Murray & Skupski vs Evans & Glasspool
Friday June 26 TBC TBC TBC TBC TBC
Saturday June 27 TBC TBC TBC TBC TBC
Sunday June 28 TBC TBC TBC TBC TBC

Where can I watch it?

It will be exclusively on Amazon Prime Video in the UK and Ireland, on Eurosport in Europe and Tennis Channel in the US.

Follow us on Twitter @T365Official.