Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray take their place on ATP Player Council

Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal

The debate over the make-up of the ATP Player Council has rumbled on for several months and now a new heavyweight line-up has been confirmed featuring Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray.

After world No.1 Novak Djokovic was forced to withdraw his nomination to be on the council after the ATP make it clear he would not be able to serve on the body and lead his breakaway Professional Tennis Players’ Association (PTPA), the Serbian backtracked on his hope to have a place on both committees.

Now his long-standing on-court rivals have sent out of a clear statement that they are firmly behind the ATP by takin their players on the Player Council, with Federer, Nadal and Murray all on the newly elected panel.

Several existing player members were re-elected for an additional term on the Council, including Felix Auger-Aliassime, Roger Federer, John Millman, Rafael Nadal, Kevin Anderson, Andy Murray and Bruno Soares.
In addition, Gilles Simon returns to the Council having served previous terms, while newcomers Pablo Andujar and Marcus Daniell will serve their first term.
Members elected to serve on the ATP Player Council through June 2022 are:
1-50 Singles: Felix Auger-Aliassime, Roger Federer, John Millman, Rafael Nadal
• 51-100 Singles: Pablo Andujar, Gilles Simon
• 1-100 Doubles: Marcus Daniell, Bruno Soares
• At-Large: Kevin Anderson, Andy Murray
• Alumni Representative: Colin Dowdeswell
• Coach Representative: Daniel Vallverdu
Federer, Nadal and Murray made it clear that they were not supporting Djokovic’s PTPA, with their return to the ATP Player Council evidence of their commitment to the current set-up.
“I do not wish to create conflict or uncertainty around the player elections or create any issues that may arise,” said Djokovic last month as he withdrew his application from the ATP Player Council list of nominees.
“This new rule specifies that all members of the newly formed Professional Tennis Players’ Association or any association that is deemed as having a “conflict of interest” cannot be elected as a member of the Players Council.
“As you know, I am part of the PTPA, an organisation that was recently created with no intention of being in conflict with the ATP. The PTPA has yet to be structured with the strategy and long term vision yet to be clearly defined, and although the PTPA has made it clear it does not intend to be combative, it is unclear how the ATP will view the association in the future.
“Unfortunately, given these latest developments I feel it is now necessary to remove myself from the list of candidates. I do not wish to create conflict or uncertainty around the player elections or create any issues that may arise. I do this reluctantly and with a heavy heart.”
The new ATP Player Council will have its first meeting in the new year, where the President and Vice President will be elected.
Follow us on Twitter @T365Official and like our Facebook page.