Iga Swiatek, Aryna Sabalenka, Emma Raducanu, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Casper Ruud sign up for mixed doubles event

Emma Raducanu

The inaugural mixed doubles event at the Eisenhower Cup promises to be a fun affair as world No 1 Iga Swiatek, Australian Open champion Aryna Sabalenka, world 3 Ons Jabeur, former US Open champion Emma Raducanu as well as Stefanos Tsitsipas, Casper Ruud and Taylor Fritz have all signed up.

The Eisenhower Cup itself will take place for a fourth time, but the one-off mixed doubles charitable event is a new addition and it will take place on the eve of the main draw action of the 2023 BNP Paribas Open – also known as the Indian Wells Open – at Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

“We are thrilled that The Eisenhower Cup will return for a fourth time to serve as a meaningful charitable event to ring in two weeks of exciting action in Tennis Paradise,” tournament director Tommy Haas said.

“Tennis fans will be treated to the brightest stars of both tours pairing up for a fun and unique mixed doubles event.”

Matches will be played in the Tie Break Tens format as it is first to ten-point tie-break matches and the tournament will be an eight-team single elimination draw.

The dream teams are:

World No 1 and three-time Grand Slam winner Swiatek – who is also the defending champion at Indian Wells – and her fellow Pole Hubert Hurkacz. The pair also teamed up at the United Cup in January.

Men’s world No 3 Stefanos Tsitsipas and Maria Sakkari have also been regular partners for Greece at the United Cup and Hopman Cup, world No 4 Jessica Pegula and Tommy Paul will be on duty for the United States while Leylah Fernandez and Felix Auger-Aliassime will fly the flag for Canada.

2021 US Open winner Emma Raducanu and Cameron Norrie will represent Great Britain. It will be Raducanu’s first taste of mixed doubles at a top event. Norrie has previously represented GB at the Hopman Cup while he was also in action at the United Cup at the start of the year.

but it not a “country vs country” tournament as Australian Open winner Aryna Sabalenak will play alongside American Taylor Fritz while Tunisian world No 3 Ons Jabeur will compete with Norwegian world No 4 Casper Ruud.

One more pairing will be confirmed closer to the time.

It is a winner-takes-all event with the prize money standing at $200,000, but all proceeds raised during the event will go to local charitable organisations.

The main draw of the 2023 Indian Wells Open – the first ATP Masters 1000 event of the year and first mandatory WTA 1000 tournament on the calendar – will run from March 8-19.

READ MORE: Emma Raducanu snags Indian Wells wildcard entry