Tim Henman to captain Great Britain in United Cup

Tim Henman

Tim Henman will captain Great Britain at the inaugural edition of the United Cup, a new annual mixed team event, which will be held across three Australian cities -Brisbane, Perth and Sydney.

Henman captains a British team which features 2021 Indian Wells champion Cameron Norrie as well as Daniel Evans and Harriet Dart.

Henman’s playing credentials include reaching the Wimbledon semifinals in 1998, wqhe he was the first British player to achieve the feat for 25 years. The former British No 1 advanced to three more semifinals at the Championships in 1999, 2001 and 2002.

The tournament gets underway on 29 December 2022 and serves as a season-opening event for both the ATP and WTA.

Former World No 1 1 Lleyton Hewitt and former world number 4 Samantha Stosur will jontly lead the Australian team.

Australia will play against Spain and Great Britain in Group D which will be hosted in Sydney. Stosur is one of the playing captains set to feature in this year’s edition of the United Cup.

Agnieszka Radwanska will skipper Poland, a team led by 2021 Miami Masters 1000 champion Hubert Hurkacz and Iga Swiatek, who won two Roland Garros titles in 2020 and 2022 and the US Open title in 2022.

Gisela Dulko, the 2011 Australian Open doubles champion and former world number one in doubles, will captain Argentina, who have been drawn in Group F with Croatia and France.

The Croatian team will be led by 2022 Cincinnati Masters 1000 champion Borna Coric and Donna Vekic on court, and skipper by former World No 4 Iva Majoli.

Former world number three doubles player Marc Lopez will direct a strong Spanish team that includes 22-time Grand Slam champion Rafael Nadal, Paula Badosa, Pablo Carreno Busta, and Albert Ramos Vinolas, as well as 2021 Indian Wells champion Paula Badosa.

Italy, whose lineup includes 2021 Wimbledon finalist Matteo Berrettini, this year’s Hamburg and Naples champion Lorenzo Musetti, and this year’s Roland Garros semifinalist Martina Trevisan, will be skippered by Vincenzo Santopadre.

The French team will be led by Grand Slam doubles champion Edouard Roger Vasselin, who will be joined by 2022 WTA Finals champion Caroline Garcia, Alizé Cornet, Arthur Rinderknech, and Adrian Mannarino.

Stan Wawrinka will be in charge of the Swiss team, which also includes Marc Andrea Huesler and Next Gen Dominic Stricker.

The other playing captains are Kazakhstan’s Alexander Bublik, Bulgaria’s Grigor Dimitrov, and Belgium’s Kirsten Flipkens.

READ MORE: No surprises in Australian Open men’s singles entry list