Twitter user shares stats that indicate quality of 2023 ATP Finals field led by Novak Djokovic

Ewan West
Novak Djokovic wins the ATP Finals
Novak Djokovic wins the ATP Finals

The eight-player field for the 2023 ATP Finals looks strong on paper and this is supported by two statistics, including one which represents a first in the history of the event.

Novak Djokovic, Carlos Alcaraz, Daniil Medvedev, Jannik Sinner, Andrey Rublev, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Alexander Zverev and Holger Rune are the eight qualifiers in Turin.

Djokovic, Medvedev, Tsitsipas and Zverev are all former ATP Finals winners, while Sinner and Rublev have both appeared before. Rublev featured at the last three editions of the event from 2020-2022, while Sinner played two matches as an alternate in 2021, with this his first full appearance as a direct qualifier.

Alcaraz and Rune are making their year-end championship debuts, with the former having missed the 2022 installment through injury after qualifying.

Djokovic and Alcaraz are the No 1 and 2 seeds respectively, and will each get one of Medvedev/Sinner, Rublev/Tsitsipas and Zverev/Rune in their groups.

The elite indoor hard-court tournament will be contested from 12-19 November at the Pala Alpitour in Turin, Italy. Djokovic is the defending champion, having downed Casper Ruud in the 2022 final.

READ MORE: 2023 ATP Finals: Dates and venue, players and teams who qualified, the draw, prize money, streaming info

In a post shared on Twitter / X, @AnnaK_4ever revealed that the 2023 edition of the ATP Finals was the first time ever that all eight players at the year-end championships are Masters 1000 champions.

Masters 1000 titles won by the 2023 ATP Finals qualifiers

Novak Djokovic – 40

Daniil Medvedev – 6

Alexander Zverev – 5

Carlos Alcaraz – 4

Stefanos Tsitsipas – 2

Holger Rune – 1

Andrey Rublev – 1

Jannik Sinner – 1

The user also explained that this was the first time in the last 40 years that the ATP Finals field contained four former winners of the event, following 1994 and 2021.

In 1994, Boris Becker, Stefan Edberg, Andre Agassi and Pete Sampras were the previous winners. In 2021, it was Djokovic, Medvedev, Tsitsipas and Zverev – the same quartet as this year.

World No 4 Sinner also discussed being part of a group of young stars, along with Alcaraz and Rune, who have qualified in Turin in an interview with

“It’s nice, I think, for the sport, to see the young players coming through. It’s really nice to be part of this rivalry, because it is kind of a rivalry and hopefully we can all show some good moments there and a good level. We’re looking forward to it,” said the 22-year-old Italian.

READ MORE: Carlos Alcaraz sent message by ‘hero’ Rafael Nadal ahead of ATP Finals