WATCH: Tennis player loses game after umpire forgets the score during WTA match

Isaac Seelochan
Astra Sharma frustrated

An Australian tennis player lost a game during a WTA 250 match after a confused umpire gave the incorrect score.

The incident happened during a first-round clash between Astra Sharma and Giulia Gatto-Monticone at the Copa Colsanitas in Colombia on Tuesday.

Chair umpire Luis David Armenta made the error at 1-1 in the third set with Sharma at 0-30 on the Italian’s serve. The world no 95 won the next point which would have given her 0-40 advantage, but the umpire incorrectly called the score 30-15.

When Monticone won the next two points the game was called in her favour with the umpire believing she was ahead. The Italian went on to win the match 4-6, 7-5, 6-1.

After the match Sharma revealed on Twitter she was told the umpire wasn’t sure about the score, saying: “This was outrageous… I was told he was not sure of the score but since I couldn’t tell him how I won the points I could not delay the match arguing with him.”

In reply to someone she said: “Opponent and the ref claimed I had made three errors and therefore since I couldn’t remember how I won points I wasn’t allowed to delay play… I was confused, I asked them to talk to the line umpire who had called at least three of her balls long and he said they had rotated.”

The 25-year-old says she had discussions with the WTA supervisor in her most recent tweet claiming she was told to “focus more on the score instead of my tennis in the future” and “my confusion is not an excuse”.

Fellow Australian player Ellen Perez supported Sharma as she tweeted: “There’s actually no excuse for this ridiculous mistake by the umpire and for the supervisor to defend it and blame the player for not focusing on the score is disgusting. Shame on you! So sick of umpires being a contributing factor to the outcome of matches.”

Follow us on Twitter @T365Official and like our Facebook page.