US Open day 14: Carlos Alcaraz clocks nearly 24 hours on court, Taylor Townsend’s cute angle, a Diede Slam

Carlos Alcaraz US Open champion.jpg

Carlos Alcaraz achieved tennis history by winning the US Open to become the youngest ever men’s world No 1.

The 19-year-old Spaniard defeated Casper Ruud 6-4, 2-6, 7-6 (7-1), 6-3 at Flushing Meadows for his maiden Grand Slam and a remarkable rise to the top of the game.

Britain’s wheelchair star Alfie Hewett won his sixth grand slam singles title, denying Japan’s Shingo Kunieda the calendar Grand Slam.

Picture of the day

Carlos Alcaraz celebrates

Carlos Alcaraz is tennis’ new superstar (Mary Altaffer/AP)

Tweet of the day

The great Rod Laver, who won 11 majors – including two Calendar Grand Slams, salutes the next generation of tennis stars.

Stat of the day

23:40 Hours and minutes: The time spent on court by Alcaraz. The most ever at a Grand Slam.

Shot of the day

American pair Taylor Townsend and Caty McNally finished runner-up to Czech duo Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova, who completed a Career Grand Slam, in the women’s doubles, going down 3–6, 7–5, 6–1.

But Townsend ended up with this cute shot.

Dutch dominance

Dutch great Diede de Groote defeated Yui Kamiji 3–6, 6–1, 6–1 to successfully defend her title. In the process she completed the Calendar Grand Slam for the second consecutive year.

Roll of honour

Women’s singles: Iga Swiatek (Poland)
Men’s singles: Carlos Alcaraz (Spain)
Women’s doubles: Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova (Czech Republic)
Men’s doubles: Rajeev Ram (USA) and Joe Salisbury (Great Britain)
Mixed doubles: Storm Sanders and John Peers (Australia)
Girls’ singles: Alexandra Eala (Philippines)
Boys’ singles: Martin Landaluce (Spain)
Girls’ doubles: Lucie Havlickova (Czech Republic) and Diana Shnaider
Boys’ doubles: Ozan Baris and Nishesh Basavareddy (USA)
Women’s wheelchair singles: Diede De Groot (Netherlands)
Men’s wheelchair singles: Alfie Hewett (Great Britain)
Women’s wheelchair doubles: Diede De Groot and Aniek Van Koot (Netherlands)
Men’s wheelchair doubles: Martin De La Puente (Spain) and Nicolas Peifer (France)
Quad wheelchair singles: Niels Vink (Netherlands)
Quad wheelchair doubles: Sam Schroder and Niels Vink (Netherlands)
Girls’ wheelchair singles: Jade Moreira Lanal (Brazil)
Boys’ wheelchair singles: Ben Bartram (Great Britain)
Girls’ wheelchair doubles: Jade Moreira Lanal (Brazil) and Maylee Phelps (USA)
Boys’ wheelchair doubles: Ben Bartram and Dahnon Ward (Great Britain)