WTA Elite Trophy 2023: Draw, rankings points and prize money

Celebrations from Jelena Ostapenko
A delighted Jelena Ostapenko

The sixth edition of the WTA Elite Trophy will get underway in Zhuhai, China, on Tuesday, 24 October 2023.

It returns for the first time since 2019 as the WTA seeks to reward the players who narrowly missed out on the Tour finals.

The tournament has had some big-name winners in the past, with five different winners crowned between 2015 and 2019.

The former singles champions of the WTA Elite Trophy are Venus Williams, Petra Kvitova, Ashleigh Barty, Julia Goerges, and Aryna Sabalenka.

Sabalenka beat top seed Kiki Bertens 6-4, 6-2 in the 2019 final in Zhuhai to signal her rise to the WTA Tour elite.

The top 11 players who did not qualify for the WTA Tour Finals will compete in the sixth edition of the event in Zhuhai.

Local star Zhu Lin was handed the single wildcard into the 12-player draw.

WTA Elite Trophy draw and format

The singles competition is a 12-player draw with 11 direct entries, and the single wild card competing in a round-robin format akin to the WTA Tour Finals except with three groups instead of two.

In the draw on Monday, 23 October the dozen players will be divided into four groups of three. The winner of each group advances to a single elimination format semifinals and final.

The doubles competition features a six-team draw with four direct entries and two wild cards competing in a round-robin format with two groups of teams. The winner of each group advances directly to the final.

The singles entrants joining Zhu Lin are Barbora Krejcikova (Czech Republic), Madison Keys (United States), Jelena Ostapenko (Latvia), Veronika Kudermetova, Liudmila Samsonova, Daria Kasatkina, Beatriz Haddad Maia (Brazil), Zheng Qinwen (China), Caroline Garcia (France), Donna Vekic (Croatia) and Magda Linette (Poland).

Prize money and rankings points on offer

The overall prize pool for the competition will be roughly $2.4 million. The prize money for a player or team is based on a player’s or team’s performance in the knockout stages together with the number of matches they played and won.

If a singles player wins all of their games during round robin play, they might win up to $220,000. Making it to the semifinals earns you an extra $17,000. The winner will receive an extra $385,000, while the runner-up will receive an extra $165,000. A perfect run to the championship would bring in $605,000.

The participation fee for the doubles teams is $20,000, with an extra $6,000 for each round robin victory. The winning team will get $23,000 in addition to an extra $12,000 in prize money.

Players in the singles division get 40 points for each round robin match they participate in, and an extra 80 points for each match they win. Finalists further score 200 points over and above their round-robin total. The round-robin score plus an additional 460 points are awarded to the winner of the WTA Elite Trophy.

Doubles teams do not gain ranking points.

The singles and doubles finals will be played on Sunday 29 October. The doubles final will begin the finals day and will be played at 13:00 local time (05:00 GMT), followed by the singles final at 15:30 (07:30 GMT).

READ MORE: Emma Raducanu reveals she is taking comeback inspiration from unique sources