The 12 men to win Wimbledon more than once in the Open Era: Roger Federer at No 1. Will Carlos Alcaraz join the list?

Shahida Jacobs
Wimbledon champions Roger Federer, Pete Sampras and Novak Djokovic with the trophy
Multiple Wimbledon champions Roger Federer, Pete Sampras and Novak Djokovic kiss the trophy

Twenty-two different men have won the Wimbledon singles titles since the start of the Open Era, but only 12 of them have managed to lift the trophy more than once.

Carlos Alcaraz became the 22nd player to win the grass-court Grand Slam when he defeated Novak Djokovic in the 2023 final and this year he will look to become only the 13th player to win multiple titles at the All England Club.

The 2024 Wimbledon edition will be the 56th time that the tournament has taken place in the Open Era and, unsurprisingly, it was the great Rod Laver who was the first to win two titles at Wimbledon in the Open Era and he was also the first to successfully defend his title.

Only 11 other players have managed to follow in the Australian’s footsteps.

Players To Win More Than One Wimbledon Title

=7. Rod Laver, John Newcombe, Jimmy Connors, Stefan Edberg, Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray – 2 titles

Rod Laver

Laver won back-to-back titles in 1961 and 1962, but that was before the Open Era. The great man, though, went on to achieve the feat again in 1968 and 1969 with his second title part of his historic Calendar Grand Slam in 1969. It was the first time a player won all four majors in the same year since the sport became pro, but Laver also claimed a Calendar Slam in 1962.

John Newcombe

Newcombe took over the baton from his compatriot Laver as he won his first title in 1970 and successfully defended his crown the following year.

Jimmy Connors

American Connors is also a two-time Wimbledon champion, but there was an eight-year gap between his titles as he first lifted the trophy in 1974 and then beat John McEnroe in the 1982 final for his second title.

Stefan Edberg

Swede Stefan Edberg made a hat-trick of Wimbledon final appearances from 1988 to 1990, but he won only two as he beat Boris Becker in the 1988 final and then again in the 1991 final. Becker, though, won the 1981 event.

Rafael Nadal

After finishing runner-up in consecutive finals to Roger Federer in 2006 and 2007, Nadal got his breakthrough in the epic 2008 final against the Swiss as he won in five sets.

Nadal then missed his 2009 title defence due to a knee injury, but returned in 2010 to win another title – this time beat Tomas Berdych in straight sets.

Andy Murray

Andy Murray won his two Wimbledon titles when the Big Three of Federer, Nadal and Novak Djokovic dominated the sport.

He won his first Wimbledon trophy in 2013 when he defeated Djokovic in the final, becoming the first British man in 77 years to win the grass-court Grand Slam.

And three years later he won it again as he beat Milos Raonic in the final.

The 5 players to win the Roland Garros-Wimbledon double: Will Carlos Alcaraz join list of players to win Channel Slam?

The 7 youngest players to win the Surface Slam as Carlos Alcaraz surges to No 1

The 11 ATP players with the most grass-court titles: Roger Federer top, Novak Djokovic joint-fifth

= 5. John McEnroe and Boris Becker – 3 titles

John McEnroe

John McEnroe was the man to deny Bjorn Borg six titles in a row at SW19 (more below) as he beat the Swede in the 4–6, 7–6 (7–1), 7–6(7–4), 6–4 in the 1981 final.

The American then lost against Connors in the next year’s final before winning title No 2 in 1983 and title No 3 in 1984.

Boris Becker

The teenage Boris Becker became the youngest-ever Grand Slam winner in 1985 when he defeated Kevin Curran in the final as he was 17 years, 7 months and 15 days (although his record has since been broken).

The following year, the 18-year-old Becker successfully defended his title as he beat Ivan Lendl in the showpiece match while his third and final title came in 1989 when he beat Edberg.

The German appeared in seven finals in total.

4. Bjorn Borg – 5 titles

Borg dominated at SW19 from the mid-70s to the early 80s as he appeared in six consecutive finals.

The Swede won his first title in 1974 and followed it up with another four as he set a record for most titles won at Wimbledon in the Open Era.

His fifth and final title came in 1980 as he beat McEnroe in the final before the American turned the tables the following year.

=2. Pete Sampras and Novak Djokovic – 7 titles

Pete Sampras

Pete Sampras broke the record for most Wimbledon titles, but unlike Borg he didn’t win his consecutively.

The American won his first hat-trick from 1993 until 1995, but his run was ended by Richard Krajicek in the quarter-final in 1996. Sampras came back with a vengeance as he then won four in a row from 1997 onwards.

He played seven finals at SW19 and won all seven finals.

Novak Djokovic

The Serbian has dominated at Wimbledon in recent years and came within one win of equalling Roger Federer’s record of eight titles.

Djokovic won his first Wimbledon crown in 2011 when he beat Nadal in the final and three years later he defeated Federer before title No 3 came in 2015 with another win over the Swiss.

But it was from 2018 onwards when Djokovic really made his mark as he won four titles in a row to draw level with Sampras on seven. He had the chance to join Federer on eight in 2023 as he faced Carlos Alcaraz in the final, but lost in five sets.

1. Roger Federer – 8 titles

Many believed Sampras’ record of seven Wimbledon titles or his record of 14 Grand Slams would not be broken, but Federer went past both of those as he also ended up with 20 majors (although both Nadal and Djokovic have beaten his tally).

As for Wimbledon, started his dominant era in 2003 when he won his first crown with victory over Mark Philippoussis in the final. He ended up winning five in a row to draw level with Borg for most consecutive titles – beating Roddick in two finals and Nadal in two finals.

He came within a few points of winning six in a row in 2008, but Nadal denied him as he won THAT epic final in five sets.

Federer, though, returned to title-winning ways in 2009 and drew level with Sampras’ seven in 2012 when he beat Murray in the final.

His final title came in 2017 when he beat Marin Cilic in the final, but he was back in another final two years later and had match points to win a ninth title, but was denied by Djokovic.